Organise and manage content for group

These instructions are primarily for group administrators (and group members who can’t find content they have added or want to move or delete content).

The video below is a good source of general help on how content is organised within the Gateway. More specific guidance is provided below the video.

For most group members, the basic functions for adding new content will meet their needs. However, group administrators may need to move or delete content or change the sharing settings for folders and content that has been added. The best starting point for this is to click on “contents” in the top left of the screen. In the image below, the contents button is marked with a red circle and the screen that appears after clicking on it is shown. Make sure you are logged in to the Gateway so that you can see the contents button.

contents.png

Note that the screenshot above has a line at the top with a picture of a house (home), followed by “/groups/glideways-group”. To go into a folder, you can click on a folder from the list shown (e.g. “resources”) and to go back to the main group folder, you can click on the group name (e.g. click on “glideways-group” in the line that reads “home/groups/glideways-group”).

You will only be able to manage content for which you have permission (e.g. if another member had added content, you will only be able to manage it if you have administrator status).

Changing sharing status

Once in contents, you can change the sharing status of an item to private or group or public by clicking on the checkbox next to it and selecting “State” from the menu at the top. In the example below, we are inside a folder called “Resources” and have clicked on Contents (hence the navigation line now reads “groups/glideways-group/resources”) . The item “Kanangra-Boyd to Wyangala Link boundary” is currently set to private and we want to make it public so that it is displayed on the group map for anyone to see. We can do this by clicking on the checkbox next to its name, then clicking “State”, changing the state to “Publish” and clicking “apply”.

status in content.png

Moving or copying content

To move or copy content, you need to click on the checkbox next to its name and then select either “cut” or “copy” from the menu at the top. Next, navigate to the folder you want to move or copy the content to and click “paste”. In the example below, we have clicked on the item “Kanangra-Boyd to Wyangala Link boundary”, selected “cut”, then clicked on the “glideways-group” (in the line that reads “home/groups/glideways-group/resources”) and selected “paste”. This item is now in the main group folder and not in the resources folder.

It is also easy to upload new content when on the contents page – just go the relevant folder and select “upload” from the menu at the top.

moving content.png

Note that individual items that exist in the main group folder will generally not be editable via the main group page. Only folders can be seen on the main group page. For example, the item “Kanangra-Boyd to Wyangala Link boundary” cannot be seen anywhere on the main group page in the image below (the map does display the item but you just can’t see it listed anywhere). The only way to edit, move or delete this item is through the contents page (clicking on contents in the top left).

main page individual items.png

Back to user guide contents