Sharing settings for content added to group sites – public, group or private
Before you add any data points, photos or other resources to your group site, be aware that there are three different sharing settings that you can apply to anything you post. These are:
- Private (only visible to the person who added it): You might want to use this setting if you are drafting something that you are not yet ready to share or if it contains personal information you don’t want other group members to see.
- Group (visible to anyone in the group): This means that other group members can view it but not edit it. Members of the general public will not be able to view it.
- Public: This means any member of the public who visits the Landcare Gateway website will be able to view your posting.
It is important to note that any content that is set to “group” will be visible to new members of the group that join after you posted it. Thus, you need to be sure that you are comfortable with any new members being able to view an item before you set it to “group”. New group members will need to be approved by the group administrator.
When you add content such as a map location or other content it is initially created as “private”. You can change this after you have created it (note that there is no option to change it while you are creating it).
The example below shows a new map location that has been created (“test3”). At the far-left of the screen, the item’s status can be viewed. This is set to “private” as it has only just been created. There are three options for making the item visible to other users:
- Publish: Status will change to “published” This means any member of the public who visits the Landcare Gateway website will be able to view your posting.
- Publish to group: Status will change to “group only”. This means that other group members will be able to view it (but not edit it). Members of the general public will not be able to view it.
- Submit for publication: Status will change to “pending review”. This means that the group administrator will need to review the item and decide whether or not to make it public.
If you want to change an item’s sharing setting back to what it was before (e.g. back from group to private) you can do so by selecting “retract” from the drop-down menu.
Also, it is important to note that folders have sharing settings as well as the individual items in those folders. If you want an item in a folder to be publicly visible, you will need to make sure the item is set to “published” and so is the folder it lies in.